top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMadhukar Dama

Finally found an ethical way to earn, after many jobs

I graduated as a Veterinarian in 2004 at KVAFSU, Bidar. This was followed by completing Masters studies at COVAS, Palampur in 2006.

With so much qualification, I was ready for a job. I was looking for a government job! There was no recruitment happening around. I joined in a temporary posting as a Research Associate at KVAFSU, Bidar. Worked for a few months. Got tired of the dullness of it all. I did not feel any excitement at this job. Quit it after few months.

With no paying jobs available immediately, volunteered as a Veterinarian for a few months at animal shelters in Bengaluru (KARUNA/KRUPA). Had a jolly good time taking care of the poor rescued/abandoned and sick dogs and cats. There was no pay, but it was satisfying.

This was followed by a permanent government job of Veterinary Officer in Bidar District. Getting this job was a dream come true as it ensures a lifelong salary even if one does not work at all. That is what I saw happening all around. The clinics were understaffed, had inadequate infrastructure, and morality was on the lower side. Could not stand this long. Keeping the job, within 4 months of joining, went on for Doctorate studies at Central Drug Research Institute (CSIR). I was happy to be studying further, and quit the job of Veterinary Officer. This is one of the earliest research institutes of India and is world renowned for housing all the technological facilities for discovery of new drugs. But there were hardly any drugs discovered here. I observed that the Scientists are so by designation, but not by character. Most efforts were aimed at publishing papers in peer reviewed journals, to amass credits for climbing the ladder of hierarchy. So that more power and money could be obtained. I was fortunate to have access to excellent library, research journals, high-tech equipment and funding. I dived in deep and learnt all I could. Made various discoveries and published papers too. Here I learnt a lot about Human body, diseases, healing and so on. However, due to various reasons with no faults of mine, I discontinued the Doctorate studies after 4+ years of research. I was due to get PhD from JNU, Delhi. Due to unethical practices of my supervisor, I was more than happy to relinquish my degree. I could not trade my morality and integrity for a certificate. I quit the institute and left empty handed. Never regretted it.

Then I worked as a Manager for about 8 months at Isoquimen, near Hyderabad. This Spanish firm was conducting drug discovery studies on hundreds of Beagle dogs. It was a satisfying work as my knowledge and skills were utilised here. Had to quit this job to join a permanent government job of Assistant Professor.

Working 4+ years as Assistant Professor at Institute of Wildlife Veterinary Research in Kodagu district, I finally realised that all the jobs are same. There is nothing called a good job. That does not exist. Atleast for me. I felt like a misfit. I wanted to do more. There were no opportunities for my interests. About 3 years into this job, I discovered that it is possible to earn freelancing using my writing and research skills. During morning and evening hours, I did writing and statistics gigs for Scientists from US and Europe. My very first client was so happy with my work that he gave me a bonus of $500. This was such a joy for me. It gave me so much confidence and hope about my talent. I continued this work in top gear for a year. I was earning more through freelancing than the job. I was learning a lots of new skills. This was something I liked most about freelancing. I was free to work whenever, wherever I wished to. I just needed a laptop. At this stage, I had no reason to continue as Assistant Professor. I let go of this job too as I had established a better career.

Few years into freelancing, with many higher skills and experiences acquired, I could earn 2-3 Lakh a month. At this stage, I was working for just few hours a week. Most of the time, I was busy spending this huge amount of money! In 2017, I made 40+ lakh rupees in a few months. About 23 lakh of this money was utilized in setting up a Gym in Hubli.

By 2018, I was tired of earning as well as spending. I saw the futility of it all. The only reason I was earning was to spend. There was no other possibility. And earning is a stressful act. With increasing earning, my health also had deteriorated. A stress induced duodenal ulcer, MRSA scalp infection, greying of hairs, obesity, piles, disturbed digestive system, lowered sleep quality, higher BP and cholesterol had all rooted in my body slowly and firmly while I was busy earning & spending. I was looking for the best health insurance possible. All the money and hospitals failed to treat any of these. I had experienced the connection between money and sickness. I decided that this is not the best way to live. Closing all the ongoing projects, I stopped making easy money. It is more than two years since I have stopped making easy money, I still get emails almost every other day from clients. I have never wished to work with them. And during these two years, I have instead developed a ethical business to earn just enough to survive and live securely. This stage also is characterized by taking many steps towards self care. All of my diseases disappeared one by one without any treatment. I have discontinued the health insurance too!

We wished that Gym could give us passive earning. However, we are yet to get any income from the gym as it is yet to give returns. More on our plans to implement ethical and moral principals in running Gym will be outlined in a future blog.

We were pondering on various ways to earn enough ethically. With Savitri, we decided to work on healing people naturally and using a age old tribal and Siddha remedy for various diseases like psoriasis and vitiligo. These diseases are categorized as incurable in Allopathy and other systems of healing. However, we have been able to cure hundreds of people. This is what we are doing now. Earning between 3-4 lakh a year (not every month!). This task is satisfying and there is hardly any work involved. People are happy too. We have built many new relationships due to healing them. I am able to utilise my biological, medical, research and business knowledge to heal people from decades of suffering. Till now, more than 50 types of tough incurable diseases have been healed this way including psoriasis, eczema, diabetes, high BP and so on. Also, all the processes, preparations in this healing approach have been made open source. Many have learnt these and make their own remedy. Some have themselves become healers too. There is no dullness, mediocrity, hypocrisy, corruption, bossism, stress, over-earning, dependency, traveling, transfers, office maintenance, and so on. This, I feel is a good job! I am not quitting job, ever.

Find your right job and live it.


Thanks for reading. Take Care.

Madhukar

171 views
Post: Blog2_Post

LIFE IS EASY

91-8722170016

Madhukar Dama / Savitri Honnakatti, Survey Number 114, Near Yelmadagi 1, Chincholi Taluk, Kalaburgi District 585306, India

UNCOPYRIGHTED

bottom of page