top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMadhukar Dama

SITTING for hours is a disease

During 2012, I was working as Assistant Professor at Institute of Wildlife Veterinary Research in Kodagu. In addition to this day job, I started working freelance on writing and statistics projects at home. This involved sitting on a chair and working on computer, for 2-3 hours in the morning and 3-4 hours at night. So, I was spending atleast 6 to 10 hours daily on computer. I was sitting for this much time daily.

Fast forward four years, I had developed unexplained body pains, joint pains, gastric ulcer, stiff back, neck and shoulder pains, obesity, eyestrain, back pains, constipation, headaches, piles, acidity, high blood cholesterol and a sense a laziness.

I was gaining bank balance fast, but losing my body faster.

We were already exploring simple living. I observed that I was sitting too much. And sitting is making me sick.

One by one we eliminated factors that were making me sit for long time.

  • The bed and mattress was removed and we started sleeping on floor.

  • Chairs, Sofa, and Deewan were eliminated.

  • And eventually I gave up all the possible works I was doing on computer.

  • We don't own any furniture now.

  • By getting rid of car and long distance travels, sitting has further reduced.

  • As much as possible, I sit in Veerasana or Squatting posture. This has in itself a major transformation for my body. More on this in a later blog.

  • My morning walks and evening exercise felt inadequate, as I was still sitting during other times. Hence, I have eliminated all possible sedentary works.

  • Sedentary works have been replaced with physical works. Infact, the concept of work is a minor component of my life now. It is almost non-existent.

  • We have not installed running water pipes and taps in kitchen and bathroom deliberately. Everyday we carry the water in buckets and pots from the water tank that is about 60 feets from home. Future plan is to have a well from which we can pullout water manually for daily needs.

  • As our children are learning out of school naturally, they are saved from sitting disease.

  • We are physically active most of the day now taking care of domestic and farm chores.

Human body has not evolved to sit long hours. Our body has evolved over millions of years for running (video below showing timeline with evolution of human physical body form). I Run, Therefore I Am. For instance, the man hunted animals by outrunning the preys. A deer was chased for hours. After that the deer gives up. And then the deer was killed and carried back home (video below showing the actual process of hunting). Walking long distance and running are natural. Food and other necessities were accumulated through running and walking long hours.





Just during last few decades with the advancement of mental works, television, smartphones, personal transport vehicles, schooling, furniture, chair etc. sitting became a major part of daily activity.



Within just 30 minutes of sitting, our body starts developing major bad changes like poor blood circulation, inflammation, and dysfunction in the blood vessels, formation of clots, stagnation of blood in legs and around buttock region and so on. This plus many other changes happen in body leading to physical, physiological, hormonal and pathological changes.



Roger Frampton, a model has done excellent work on how sitting destroys our body.



I have listed some scientific studies on effects of sedentary lifestyle on health. I found that sitting long hours affects the body in such a way that almost every major disease develops.


What to do if your day involves lots of sitting?

It is very simple, walk atleast 10,000 steps everyday. Do not sit longer than 30 minutes at a stretch. Just take a quick break. More breaks, more better. And adopt squatting posture as much as possible (more on this later).


Take Care & Share if You liked This Piece

Madhukar

251 views
Post: Blog2_Post

LIFE IS EASY

91-8722170016

Madhukar Dama / Savitri Honnakatti, Survey Number 114, Near Yelmadagi 1, Chincholi Taluk, Kalaburgi District 585306, India

UNCOPYRIGHTED

bottom of page