top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMadhukar Dama

On Helping others

I had thought helping is simple and straightforward act of kindness. It is not. Infact it is very difficult to help most of the time. Over many years, I have been developing better understanding of the act of helping. Here is a list of my experiences on helping:

- Helping mostly did not work when it was not asked for. I have wasted a lot of money, efforts, and time thinking that my acts of help could change life.

- Help can be done when the person asks for it.

- I was able to help only when the act of helping made me happy and did not affect me negatively.

- Help can be done only when I am able to. Continuous helping was not possible.

- Helping acts that satisfy basic needs work best. These are very easy. For instance it is possible to take care of food and clothing of many people. But it's almost impossible to take care of wants of even one person.

- I did not enjoy helping to satisfy others wants/desires/expectations. This act was degrading me as it further increased expectations.

30 views
Post: Blog2_Post

LIFE IS EASY

91-8722170016

Madhukar Dama / Savitri Honnakatti, Survey Number 114, Near Yelmadagi 1, Chincholi Taluk, Kalaburgi District 585306, India

UNCOPYRIGHTED

bottom of page