top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMadhukar Dama

FREEDOM IS A CHOICE

There is no absolute freedom. It is not possible to be free from every problem all the time. There will always be some problems.


We will always have one or other thing to take care. Automatically, unknowingly, slowly and steadily we all lose little freedom daily as we grow up.


We all get trapped by the cultural and social demands to perform, conform, adhere, achieve, and act and so on.


However, when we fail to set limits and boundaries, our freedom is lost. We don’t get enough time to sleep, are not free to relax when needed, are unable to eat right & lose our health. And this becomes the daily grind. And then we get sick, tired, frustrated, addicted and lost.


At this moment, you can either accept this as a fate & continue to go through the grind. Or, start looking at what’s really happening.


If you accept fate, your sufferings will continue and grow, and you will pass on these troubles to everyone around you, including relatives, spouse and children. This option was not acceptable for me. I could see that there are people everywhere who are not suffering like me. There are people working more than me but are not frustrated. There are people living a long and healthy life in polluted metros.


Then it hit me. Freedom is a choice to be claimed.


I started claiming this choice. And over the last decade I have made thousands of choices to reclaim my freedom.


I have stopped chasing happiness, which freed me from unhappiness.


I embraced the conflicts in society, I feel at peace with society.


I have realized that each individual is unique, which eliminated my desire for harmony in every relationship.


I have realized that help is possible only when a person is willing 100% to be helped. This understanding freed me from the desire to help people and bring a change in society.


I have seen that a poor person is physically suffering and a rich one is mentally suffering. Both look like problems, unless one learns how to handle these statuses.


I never shy away from making money as money is a social oxygen. I have eliminated all people and hurdles between me and money. This has led to a free flow of money in my life.


We give priority to health at all times, which has protected us from diseases.


I have eliminated phony friends and relatives ruthlessly, which freed us from exploitation in the name of responsibility.


We have minimized the material, digital, information, food and every other consumption. This freed us from the troubles of owning, storing, maintaining and craving.


We have rejected every possible act that was unnecessary and made our life stressful.


We no longer do anything just because someone else is doing it, or it's promoted through culture or its in fashion.


We are now free from the grind of the employment, torture of schooling children, misery of the diseases, exploitation by phony relatives/friends/society, dependency on comforts & luxuries, desires of achievement, conforming to meaningless social norms, imaginary fears, and burden of hope and so on.


We are now free to eat when hungry, piss and shit when necessary, sleep when tired, drink when thirsty and enjoy every possible opportunity. All the time, making sure that others' freedom is not affected.


Many people think that we are depriving ourselves! But, we are actually free from deprivation.


We are free to live.


***

1 view
Post: Blog2_Post

LIFE IS EASY

91-8722170016

Madhukar Dama / Savitri Honnakatti, Survey Number 114, Near Yelmadagi 1, Chincholi Taluk, Kalaburgi District 585306, India

UNCOPYRIGHTED

bottom of page